

Government of Jammu and Kashmir General Administration Department

(Administration Section)
Civil Secretariat,
Srinagar/Jammu

Subject:-

Posting of people who have taken benefit of reservation under ALC/RBA in such areas as per J&K Reservation Act.

Circular NO. | 2 -GAD of 2008

Dated:- ○ ○ -04-2008

An ordinance amending the Jammu & Kashmir Reservation Act, 2004 has been promulgated on 5th March, 2008. This ordinance has come into the force from the date it has been promulgated and following amendments have been made in the Jammu & Kashmir Reservation Act, 2004:

"<u>Section 3(2)</u>

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in any law for the time being in force, any person appointed against any available vacancy on the basis of his being a resident of backward area or an area adjoining Line of Actual Control shall serve in such areas for a period of not less than seven years:

Provided that in case the post against which he has been appointed is not available in such area, he shall be posted in the nearest adjacent backward area.

Section 3(3)

Any persons who, after being appointed on the basis of reservation, declines to serve in the reserved area as provided under Sub-Section (2) shall be liable to termination from service:

Provided that no order of termination shall be issued without affording a reasonable opportunity of being heard to such person."



All the Administrative Secretaries are requested to strictly adhere to the above provisions of the ordinance. They are further requested to also initiate action as per the Cabinet Decision circulated vide this Department's letter No. GAD (Adm)/ 249/2006-I dated 17.12.2007.

(Basharat Ahmad Dhar) IAS
Commissioner/Secretary to Government
General Administration Department

No:-GAD(Adm)249/2006-I

Dated:- 68-04-2008

Copy to the:

- 1. All Financial Commissioners.
- 2. Director General of Police.
- 3. All Principal Secretaries to Government/Financial Commissioner, Revenue.
- 4. All Commissioner/Secretaries to Government.
- 5. All Heads of Departments.
- 6. All Deputy Commissioners.